Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-01 - 6:18 a.m.

I had a go at the Good Vibrations concept that has been on my mind for a couple of days. At the moment it�s a Punk-Maclaughin guitar part and a jazzy flute line. It felt like a lot of fun (especially on the flute and especially having shifted the guitar part into Em/G) . I became aware of some new internal relationships within the overall idea of the piece. I ended up doing the gtr part on the Telecaster � the first time I have tried to find a suitable V-amp setting for it. Basically its quite a fussy guitar � it liked the AC30 and is happy with my Fender DeLuxe. There must be something in the V-amp that�s just right that I haven�t found before.

I began to feel better about the end of the ending on the Last Eleven Bars. I thought about trying some guitar on Approximately Four Minutes � a concept is there � but it didn�t quite happen. A similar situation materialised in terms of cutting more off the eating apple tree.

I decided the Duosonic needed a service � at the shop I always use � just near the Wooden Bridge pub on the Guildford bi-pass. The proprietor was a bit sniffy about my bargain-basement gtr � he said the best Squires were the early 1980 Strats which were made in Japan and rivalled pre-CBS quality. There was someone in there with a late 1970s black Strat worrying about the neck of his gtr � apparently this can be a legitimate area of concern.

The conversation ranged far and wide. I tried an early 1970s Suzuki SG copy � interesting - apparently I am not the only person who thinks that. The neck pick-up isn�t working at the moment and so its not really for sale. Also an indeterminate Fernandes black Les-Paul-ish guitar (said to be made in Japan) and a new Danelectro with two lipstick pick-ups. The latter was not at all bad but I thought the bridge looked too primitive for words. (There used to be a Danelectro electric12-string in Tintagel which I would use occaisionally at the Middle Earth eg on Season of the Witch � a warhorse of that era.) I managed to drag myself away and on to Tesco�s � it will be interesting to see how the Duosonic emerges. Its my everyday guitar � shortscale and really easy to play with nice naural acoustics and its not the end of the world if it gets stolen or knocked. The pick-ups are very powerful although we will have to wait and see if there is a malign cause of this when he opens it up eg an incredibly cheap and vulnerable transistor circuit..

I did a bit of work on the usage stats for www.kwase-kwaza.org which seemed to suggest that the traffic coming in recently from google was quite good quality. Peter Chatterton mailed with some news about the group of Commonweath First Ladies mentioned on the KK news site) and their emerging ideas about launching a multi-national CD to raise funds for their AIDS charity.

Jake and Yvonne returned from Suffolk.

A copy of Adrian Stokes� Pelican � The Image in Form � floated to the surface. I had been trying to think of the author�s name for a moth or so - Stokes was an artist and critic who was very into psychoanalysis � especially the version developed by Melanie Klein.

I think maybe Good Vibes needs a low brass part. I wonder if working with improvised material in Cubasis Go can really spoil your style � maybe there is such a thing as too much spontaneity?

Here�s a brief selling message:

Last year U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan created the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria. His target is to raise dlrs 7 billion of the estimated dlrs 10 billion needed annually to tackle those diseases. Only dlrs 2 billion has been pledged to the fund so far.

``It's not rocket science, the problem is just money,'' says Jeffrey Sachs, director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University in New York:``If every person in the rich world would just spend dlrs 10 a year for the global fund, we would have dlrs 10 billion a year.''

If you spend your bit on Music for the Highveld you get an interesting CD thrown in and 95% of the money goes into a hardship fund which helps AIDS orphans pay for their bus fares to school.

previous - next