Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-16 - 7:39 a.m.

Lucky Peterson - Why Can�t We Live Together - a cover of a Philly song from 1973 or thereabouts - played by Paul Jones on the R2 blues show circa 20.45 - sheeeeesssshhhhhhh. Great major/minor switch in the middle of it . Then for half an hour round midnight on BBC2 there were a string of live performances filmed in the 70s � Bob Marley, Tim Buckley, Alex Harvey, Captain Beefheart, Average White Band, Little Feat � can�t find the superlatives � especially not for Little Feat � light and heavy at the same time. AWB also quite extraordinary.

Meanwhile Cameron JJJ having achieved his academic goals has disappeared from view between 10.30 am and aout 11.30 pm. I knew all that tidying up would carry a serious price. He said he had been in the pub but had eaten something.

I drove into work today - so much better than the railways � too bad about the planet. Good e-m from Skoda. To pass the time I had been a hack at Bryter Later - as threatened - trying to sort out what I think is going on in the first �phase�. Watch this space � I can feel a Poulenc para coming on. I had a look at the Vamp website � lots of examples of the sounds. I wonder why this kit has bad word of mouth. I started to check out some Satie sites � the changing assessment of his value and import over the last 80 years is a sage in its own right. I located a good article on Cage�s role in some of this.

I phoned Graham to let him know I was going to take the job and was just hassling around at the DTI on dates. He enjoyed Death Valley a lot and said Bryce Canyon was good too � pushing it even higher up my list. Exams seem to have gone well at that end.

I am using my editor�s rights to develop certain themes on the kwase-kwasa.org website News page. There is an extraordinary gay activist in SA � Z Achmat - who is HIV positive and has gone on a treatment strike to force the government to give anti retrovirals to more people. Nelson Mandela has met him and endorsed his stance. Its amazing how one person with enough bottle can make things shift.

The piece in Cubasis needs a name � I modified the most dynamic part tonight and also put the less volatile parts into the middle. It looks as if its going to be a dialogue. Let the working title be �Approximately Four Minutes�. I also listened to the mix of the Webern Variations Part 3 in Cubasis Go and began to rehearse and electric guitar part.

James is talking about applying to Christs - he liked the approach in his subject taken by the people he met there. Its convenient for pubs and shops but a bit of a walk from the History Building - but you can go through Kings which is not a bad daily commute. Anyway we will have to wait and see. His school came in 69th in the national ranking of comprehensives which is not bad considering it is well into the top 10 for blues guitarists.

previous - next