Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-07 - 10:45 a.m.

I missed James's stuff - I appreciate his conclusion that its a chore so why bother. But I was interested in the combination of science teaching and music - appreciation and endeavour. Good luck.

I am very convinced about the ring idea. I was thinking about it this morning before I read Mark's entry. To be precise I was thinking about a way of working it - in my own context on stuff other people were producing. It was Mark's request for separate tracks that did it. For someone like me whose approach is often heavily improvisational - I would like to try making a track - probably stereo with a click on one side - and the improvised elements on the other. Whoever was producing could cut and paste from the improvised material. I am pretty sure this is the way that Joni Mitchell works eg with Waybe Shorter. He turns up in the studio - the track is in a certain state of development - he jams some stuff on. The production then continues and his stuff might get heavily editted, cut, paste etc. I am thinking that my next offering on BBC 500 will take this form.

I was thinking in similar terms about the Quick Shuffle.

I am sure Robin is right about Day is Done - something I heard in the last two years transformed my vision of this song. I think it must have been a bootleg although I can't think which one. Just maybe its the Elton John demo.

Anyway the image I have is that the pace and syncopation of the song is different - say much more like Bert Jansch's Strolling Down the Highway. When I wrote about Five Leave's Left and the jazz influence I left out various tracks and this is one. If I ever did a second version then I would cover it.

I keep thinking about Bryter Later - in the last few days it has been in connection with Poulenc - and D Drew's concept of irony and bathos in his music.

Peter Chatterton has mailed to say that he has redeveloped the kwase-kwaza.site ( link at the top of this page). He is keen that sites aren't just broadcasting but allow communities to develop. It will have to wait until I get back to a terminal I can use for longer than an hour before I can evaluate this.

previous - next