Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-07-14 - 6:38 a.m.

Just listening to Mark's interpretation of Fifths - really enjoying the fact that I would never ever thought of going in that direction in a million years. At the moment I especially like the introduction. The file got lost somewhere in my computer after downloading - glad I kept up the hunt to find it again.

Yesterday was Yvonne's birthday. A party of nine walked about 9km from the house along the Pilgrims way to a restaurant at Gomshall. The weather was kind to us. This morning my knees ache and I have a hangover. But it was fun. Still sipping a tumbler of flat champagne from last night. I suppose I might be celebrating not running over a badger last Sunday when I was doing some last minute planning for the walk.

It was the first badger I have ever seen and it would have been a disaster to have killed it.

Ayesha mailed about my interpretation of Sufi Moonchant - which she discovered 18 years ago - its a track on Plundafonix.

Peter has got some amazing stills off the Mandela programme which has placed on the Kwase-kwaza website. They are very atmospheric and lift the site onto a new plane. Robin's feedback about the site in her diary is much appreciated.

There's a lot to say about the motivation of dogs which varies from animal to animal. Jake is a dog who is dedicated to working with the pack - so the idea of going on a long walk with a group of people is his idea of heaven.

He was so tired after 9km that he didnt object to being locked in a car while we ate in the restaurant.

I havent had a chance to write about my visit to TWR in Worthing on Friday. I really enjoyed seeing the design process. They are able to take a designer's initial impressionistic sketches into the digital realm and then develop that all the way to a complete digital car which can be manufactured. When you think of the complexity of a car this is an astonishing feat.

There were also some world unique vibrational test rigs. For example they were testing some castings which connect the body of the car to the wheels - and to do this they put apply six different kinds of vibration stresses simultaneously eg to simulate driving conditions in Eastern Europe which are quite severe.

"Time No Changes" is the name of an improvisation style that I am drawn to at the moment. It was invented about forty years ago and according to Ian Carr the trumpeter and critic still absorbs quite a few people. I am beginning to see the point - not least in the way it draws you right into the heart of the piece that you are using as the basis of improvisation.

It has been quite a week - with two culminating events - the TV programme and then the 9km walk. In the next few days James comes back from his megarelax in Malaga. His issue is "after school - then what"? I suppose he can duck this a bit until the A Level results come out in August.

.Fellthru - the punk-ska band on Plundafonix - are playing the Junction in Cambridge. I think that is on Monday 15 July. They have now played some gigs in Camden and are beginning to get some interest from record labels.

I have read some of Andrew Keelings other diary - odd to read the realworld counterpart to the internal life

previous - next