Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-06-24 - 5:50 a.m.

I agree 1000% with Robin's entry today - there's a short article in the Observer Magazine from John Cale. Maybe I will dig out a quote from it for a later diary. He also said a little about his WTC disaster experiences - he lives very close to ground zero and was home online when the planes hit.

As far as Andrew and James' themes are concerned, I don't usually remember by dreams. Nick Cave turned up in one the other day and last night's featured an experience of being old and disempowered - a version of the one where you struggle to make progress but your limbs have turned to water. Not sure how far I want to reflect on that.

The whole thing of writing about the landscape started with Andrew's other diary where he writes a lot about his trips to the Lake District. Anyway yesterday Jake and I went for another geologically inspired walk - a high point on the chalk just North of Alton. Still looking at the wide curve of the geology from running east-west to sweep round to north-south and then continue round to the South Downs. This shape is easy to see from the hill above my house as far as the Lower Greensand is concerned - much harder to discern with the chalk. Yesterday's vantage point showed the LG from a different and more comprehensive angle and but also revealed that large-scale curve on the chalk.

Yesterday I was standing where I could see all of the first day of the three day walk Rob and I did from Haslemere - effectively this was on a line east-west which took as down the dip slope of the Greensand to cross the south branch of the Rivery Wey close to its source. I think this must be the boundary between the Upper and Lower Greensand. Then across the Upper Greensand which is quite extensive here on to foot of the chalk scarp at Selbourne where we stayed the night. Rob is walking some of the Cornish coastal path this week and has asked me if I can join him. Actually my diary this week is a mess. .

So from where Jake and I were there is a complex geology stretching South but there are also views North into a different geological zone - the strata younger than the chalk which make up the Thames Valley. Looking in this direction you could see down the chalk dip slope to Basingstoke and then across the Tertiary layers to Reading and the Chilterns which are the start of the chalk again. So - this location offered views into two large geological bowl formations - one whose heart is older rocks - broadly speaking from the dinosaurs' time - the other is the mirroir image with the newest rocks of all at its centre of symmetry. I am still looking for a good view of how the chalk loops round at the west end of this younger formation.

Peter Chatterton phoned last night to say that he had finished the programme using the videos he shot in my garden at the lunch for Lynn and Grace. (Jill Wilson thanked me for organising the lubch yesterday). He is very pleased with them - they are available on CDRom, VHS tape and DVD. He is really chuffed with the quality of the DVD - he has just bought a DVD-writer. We are lunching with Tricia Sibbons on Wednesday who runs the Bishop Simeon trust which organised Lynn and Grace's tour. Maybe I will ask Peter whats involved in accessing the stuff from here. I know Peter rents a lot of online space in the US. I asked him if he would have a look at my USB interface - he was interested when I told him I had got it and his a lot lot more technical than me.

I sat next to Stephen Bamfylde in church - Tricia's husband works in his firm. A solicitor called Brian who lives over the hill from me gave ther sermon - he is training to be a lay reader. It was all about some Roumanian friends of his - people he first met in the 70s. About the conflict between the intimidation they had experienced from the Secret Police and whether to join the revolution in 1989. Brian is also presenting some local research on Tuesday - another one of my diary conflicts.

Panorama returned to the state killings in Northern Ireland. The plot thickened - especially when it emerged that the guy at the heart of the army intelligence operation is now military attache in Peking.

Apart from that there was nothing much on TV and so I read Andrew Rawnsley's book on New Labour which has been leant me by Nick Brown. I read the sections on the petrol crisis and on Mandleson's second resignation. I recognised some bit-part players in both tales - Anna Walker who alerted Byers to the diminishing petrol stocks and Wally Hammond who did the official investigation after Peter M's departure. I worked with Wally H on some of the follow-up to the Scott Report - Supergun etc. Maybe one day when there isn't a lot to say I'll inflict some recollections from those days on the diary. I think Peter M was set up and as is so often the case it was because he had got into the position where he had generally lost people's trust that they felled him. There is something Shakespearean about the tale.

First thing I worked on version of You Are Here which I am listening to now. As sometimes happens when you have worked on something for a bit it unfolds very rapidly - up to the point of the transition to the bridge.

previous - next