Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-06-16 - 7:31 a.m.

Vita Yvonne and I went to see Spiderman - good fun. Jake and I had a look at Worplesdon church and its surroundings - its quite obviously built on the very highest part of its locality. Its mentioned in the Domesday Book along with "one slave" - wonder what that means? The current church is 13th century and largely made of sarsens - a stone that you find on the chalk - which this place isnt.

During the walks I listened to Bowie's Low which I rather missed at the time. Its quite hard to hear it as it must have sounded when it first came out. There's a flute in the mix I think.

I drove Vita to her dance class and managed to argue with her so that she ignored me for the rest of the day.

Mark's car and computer crashes are the kind of thing I hate. Astras used to be made in the UK but are not now but they are in the top three best selling cars in the UK.

I fooled around with a Gothic Canon in MIDI - first on the old PC and then on the new one looking at the timbres of the two soft synths currently isntalled - the Cubase Universal which is only GM but which routes the sound through VST effects and the one it came with which allegedly a Roland GS Soundcanvas. I am trying to find out how far I can controly this through the Cubase MIDI mixer. I am not sure I about the control of the effects and I need to see whether I can raise some of the extra timbres in GS.

I also started on Robin's song "You Are Here" - including a sketch in Cubase. I think I have some strong ideas for the verse but I am still rather in the dark over the bridge even though I am working from the score. The bridge structure is interesting - three six bar phrases. The verse lends itself to a lot of different approaches which I rather like. I am also intrigued by the harmonies of the motif or vamp. The first chord is the classic 2nd chord of Riverman which people give funny names to. You can see it as a fourth chord - C# F# B E. The second chord is also a fourth chord of sorts in that one of the fourths - F# B - is carried over and another is added - D G.

I still have the click glitch on my UBS port - not obvioulsy related to CPU overload. I need to try the Wav player that came with the driver software.

previous - next