Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-04-29 - 11:22 p.m.

Today rather went downhill. I delivered the AX to be serviced and they gave me a lift to the station in a new C5 - a car which I haven't been in before. I took the North Downs route to Victoria listening to Get Up Get With It and having encouraging thoughts about Teo Macero. In the office I worked on some material from the Sector Skills Development Agency which looks promising. But that is about it really in terms of pogress. Railtrack played a trick on me on the way home with the result that I found myself in Brookwood - that'll teach me to make jokes about the railway of death. Peter can't do either of the next two gigs. James announced that the printer has broken. I should have known that if he can't fix it then the chances of me thinking of something that he hasn't are very slim. So its still broken. I am also getting fairly tired of my current Lear-like situation at work. Looking backwards isn't going to get me anywhere and frustration levels are mounting.

So what can enliven this rather dismal entry? Well.... there are hardly any recordings of Lamont Young's works available and affordable but it looks as if there is now one more. The Arditti's USA collection has come out at mid-price and there is a 5 minute LmY piece included together with Cage, Ives etc. (Mick Beck has an amusing story about trying to get an Arditti involved in free improv).

I found the copy of the Evening Standard Whatson mag that someone gave me on the tube which has details of an exhibition of Modern Religious Art 1992 - 2002. I must make an effort to use this time in London more constructively.

Rob has finished walking the length of the Thames - I joined him on the section between Maidenhead and Henley last year - which I can warmly recommend. He says the whole thing is good value partly because it changes so much, I tried to interest him in walking downstream along the Wey from here, I think this too might a world of its own.

I picked up another idea from Teo M. Apparently in the 50s he did a piece which miked the piano to pick up string resonances from his sax. I have played a little with trying to chart the harmonic series in this way - hitting a low note hard and keeping some high strings open to resonate.And right at the end of the day I plugged the little Korg FX box into the back of the PC and started putting the guitar notes in the Crusher. There are some rhythmic patches on the Crusher which sound quite promising.

Tomorrow I treally must make an effort on the Czech trip and round off the visionary statement.

previous - next